Operational Excellence – Definition, Methods & Usage

Definition – What is Operational Excellence?

Operational Excellence (OpEx) describes the ability of a company to continuously optimize its processes and systems across the entire value chain. The basis for this is the corporate strategy, while the focus of the improvements is on increasing productivity and quality as well as reducing costs.

The terms Business Excellence, Management Excellence and Operations Management are also often used as synonyms for OpEx. Even though they differ in detail, they all have in common the continuous improvement of effectiveness and efficiency.

OpEx core competencies

The two essential competencies to introduce and implement OpEx professionally are Process Management and Project Management skills. 30% of the gross domestic product is now generated in projects.

Process Management, Six Sigma

The most valuable knowledge around process optimization methods is bundled in the Six Sigma methodology. Not only the optimization, but also the development and management of lean processes are considered.
The responsibilities within a Six Sigma organization are clearly divided and enable beginners at every level of knowledge to be supported on the way to operational excellence (Six Sigma roles).

Project Management, PMP®

The basis for any project-based activity are the appropriate skills and methods. The Project Management Professional (PMP®) of the Project Management Institute (PMI®) represents the globally recognized standard of tools and ways of thinking (PMP® preparation). The contents are adapted to the latest circumstances and project management trends every year.

Six Sigma College Düsseldorf

Testen Sie unser E-Learning
kostenlos und ohne Anmeldung

Hier testen

Operational Excellence – Definition, Methoden & Anwendung

Definition – Was ist Operational Excellence?

Operational Excellence (OpEx) beschreibt die Fähigkeit eines Unternehmens seine Abläufe und Systeme über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette kontinuierlich zu optimieren. Die Grundlage dafür bildet die Unternehmensstrategie, während der Fokus der Verbesserungen auf der Steigerung der Produktivität und der Qualität sowie auf der Reduktion der Kosten liegt.

Es werden auch oft auch Begriffe Business Excellence, Management Excellence und Operations Management als Synonyme für OpEx genannt. Auch wenn sie sich im Detail unterscheiden sind sie ihre Gemeinsamkeit alle in der kontinuierliche Verbesserung von Effektivität und Effizienz.

OpEx Kernkompetenzen

Die beiden wesentlichen Kompetenzen um OpEx professionell einzuführen und umzusetzen sind
Prozess Management und Projekt Management Fähigkeiten. 30% des Bruttoinland Produktes wird mittlerweile in Projekten erwirtschaftet.

Prozess Management, Six Sigma

Das wertvollste Wissen rund um prozessoptimierende Methoden wird in der Six Sigma Methodik gebündelt. Dabei findet nicht nur die Optimierung, sondern auch die Entwicklung und das Management von schlanken Prozessen Betrachtung.
Die Verantwortlichkeiten innerhalb einer Six Sigma Organisation siind klar aufgeteilt und ermöglichen Einsteigern auf jedem Kenntnislevel die Unterstützung auf dem Weg hin zur Operational Excellence (Six Sigma Rollen).

Projekt Management, PMP®

Die Grundlage für jede projektbasierte Tätigkeit sind die entsprechenden Skills und Methoden. Der Project Management Professional (PMP®) des Project Management Instititutes (PMI®) bildet dabei den weltweit anerkannten Standard an Tools und Denkweisen ab (PMP® Vorbereitung). Dabei werden die Inhalte jedes Jahr an die neusten Gegebenheiten und Projektmanagement-Trends angepasst.